Inside a Leica CL Metering Device

The meter needle of my Leica CL wasn’t moving at all, so I decided to take it apart and see what the problem was.

As it turns out the metering device, a galvanometer, is broken. When measuring the resistance of the coil, which should be around 3.8kΩ, I get an open circuit. This means that somewhere inside there is a wire that is disconnected, and I decided to take the galvanometer apart and try to repair it. Here are some pictures of the disassembling process and of what’s inside the galvanometer.

 

The whole process is a delicate and painful one, unless you own a stereo microscope and a good SMD soldering iron. If you contact Leica they can send you the spare part, but it takes 3 weeks to come from Germany (they don’t repair Leica CLs in  USA) and it costs more than $80.

6 thoughts on “Inside a Leica CL Metering Device

  1. Thank you for your detailed photos and notes. I just picked up a CL and I’m having some electrical troubles as well. The battery test button works when pushed in. Also, the meter works, but only when I push the battery test button in slightly (and of course have the advance lever moved out a bit). I’m thinking a loose connection around the battery test button. I’m not sure how that would affect the meter circuit though. Do you have any ideas?
    I’m not sure how to get into wiring around the button area. Your teardown where you have the front plate removed (https://garbugli.wordpress.com/2015/04/30/taking-a-leica-cl-apart/2015-04-07-01-12-11/) looks like the wires go pretty far back and don’t look easily accessible.

    Like

    1. Hello, I found an old picture of the metering board of the CL (I don’t have that camera anymore), and you can see it here https://garbugli.files.wordpress.com/2019/03/leica_cl_board.jpeg .
      The blue arrow points at a sliding contact, that is pressed by the battery test button. In your case, I think that that sliding contact is pushed too low by its spring, for some reason, so you have to push the battery test button slightly to put it in the right position.
      Getting to that board is fairly complicated, and unfortunately I have lost the pictures I took last time I did it, so I can’t help you there. Once you get to it though, it should be an easy fix.

      If you don’t want to take the whole camera apart, you could try to glue something on the internal side of that battery test button, so that it pushes the sliding contact in slightly. It’s a hack, but it’s worth a try.

      Cheers,
      Leo

      Like

      1. Hi Leo,
        I just asked about the speed dial. And I’m late on my response about the battery test button. I did exactly as you suggested and glued on a small piece of plastic on the internal side of the button – works great!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment