Cleaning a Canon LTM 50mm f1.8 Lens

Sometime ago I bought a Canon 50mm f1.8 LTM lens, also known as Serenar. It had some haze on the internal elements, but between one thing and another it took me a while to get to it and clean it. I managed to remove the haze from all the optical surfaces but one.

One of the internal elements has some haze that doesn’t come off with anything I’ve thrown at it. I tried H2O2, H2O2 with windex (for the ammonia), windex, alcohol, acetone, lighter fluid. None of these worked. My guess is that it is either a coating damage, in which case there is nothing to do, or perhaps it is the doublet that is separating (though it looks to me the haze is on the outside surface, not in between the elements).

I took some pictures of the steps to take the lens apart, since I couldn’t find much online. To take this lens apart you will need a rubber tool. Also, I didn’t lubricate the aperture blades at all after cleaning them. I’m not sure if that’s the way to go, but even the smallest amount of oil was migrating on the blades so I decided not to do it.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cleaning a Canon LTM 50mm f1.8 Lens

  1. Might be a long shot that I’ll get a reply so many years later, but how does the front element get removed from the aperture ring? Do I thread it out or push it out once the proper screws are removed?

    Like

      1. I was referring to the black housing that cradles the front element. I was able to get it out with a bit of downward force though! Now I’m just struggling to remove the doublet from the black housing.. Thank you for the reply though! Oh, and excellent post!

        Like

  2. Hi, The front housing has a small 1mm diameter screw on the side opposite the aperture dot. Used to secure the fromt ring frmo unscrewing and dropping the front element. Just disassembled everything. I have the same experience as the author. I have haze. This lens is based on Zeiss Planar design. It has 6 elements. 3 infront of the aperture, 3 after the aperture. Considering the front element as the 1st element, the haze is found on the 4th element on the front facing side. The rear facing side is glued to the fifth element. The 2nd and 3rd element has a gap inbetween, but are also held together tightly with glue to maintain the gap. I have soaked the 4th and 5th to separate them so I don’t damaged the 5th element while working on the 4th. The hazy side was at first quite rough. Used various techniques, and also a hydrocarbon surfactant normally used for aerospace exterior cleaning. Soaking in that removed the rough matter on the lens element surface, but the haze stays…. The rough surface is now smooth and reflects like crazy, but the haze stays!!!! Seems that the haze is just right underneath the surface or a busted surface coating. Have been polishing with nanoparticles and every diluted metal polish and still the haze stays…..running out of ideas…..Anyone has a solution? I am still persevering….still waiting for 0.5um diamond paste to arrive through the mail to start polishing again. Tough haze!!!

    Like

Leave a comment